The DMV has contracted with Rock County to provide title, registration
and registration renewal services for walk-in customers.
We are able to electronically process title applications and vehicle registrations and issue license plates, decals and certificates of registration to customers.
The County Clerk's Office DOES NOT PRINT TITLES OR PROVIDE DUPLICATE TITLES Please contact your local service center.
Plates, temporary and/or permanent, or license plate stickers are given to the customer upon completing the transaction.
Titles are printed and mailed from DMV in Madison.
In addition to the DMV title or registration fees, the County Clerk's Office charges a service fee of $10 for a renewal transaction and $19.50 for a title transaction.
Rock County receives $6 of the $10 and $11.70 of the $19.50 service fee. These fees are set by the vendor and are non-negotiable.
Local Checks or Cash only. All fees are payable to the Rock County Clerk's Office.
Vehicle Renewal (License Plate Stickers)
We offer plate renewals on cars, vans, motorcycles, mopeds and trucks up to 8,000 lbs gross weight. Please bring your renewal notice or your plate number when coming in. Plates expired more than 5 business days incur a $10.00 late fee.
If a vehicle has been out of operation and the plates have expired, a non-operation statement (MV2111) must be completed and included with the appropriate fees. This type of renewal can be made through the mail or taken to a full service DMV station. If the vehicle has not been out of operation and the plates have expired, you must pay a full year's registration fee, and a $10.00 late fee. New plates will not be issued. The current plates on the vehicle will be renewed.
Titles & Registration
The County Clerk's Office DOES NOT PRINT TITLES OR PROVIDE DUPLICATE TITLES. Please contact your local service center.
When you purchase or receive a vehicle as a gift, you must immediately apply for a Certificate of Title. The seller must complete the assignment of title, including odometer disclosure (unless exempt) and signature and give you the original document with a lien release for each lien listed on the title. Never buy a vehicle without seeing and receiving a title signed by the previous owner.
You will need the following items:
1. The Certificate of Title (not a photocopy) signed by the previous owner
2. Current identification, if applying in person at a DMV customer service center or to a DMV agent
3. A license plate to transfer or the annual registration fee if you do not have plates or if your current plates expire within the next three months
4. Title Fee
5. Sales tax
6. Local sales tax (if applicable)
7. Wheel tax (if applicable)
8. Payment payable to the Rock County Clerk - local checks or cash only.
If you don't have license plates, we will issue them to you. You will receive a Certificate of Registration with the Certificate of Title (which is mailed from the Madison DMV). The title is the ownership document for your vehicle. It is an important document and should be kept in a safe place, but not in your vehicle. The Certificate of Registration should be kept in the vehicle as proof of current registration.
Wisconsin law requires buyers of cars and small trucks (8,000 lbs or less) to display a permanent or temporary plate within two business days of purchase. Driving without plates subjects you to a maximum fine of $200.00.
A Wisconsin Dealer or financial institution involved in the sale will provide temporary plates. Temporary plates issued to Wisconsin residents are valid for 90 days.
Out of state residents purchasing a vehicle in Wisconsin may obtain a temporary plate valid for 30 days.
Permanent or temporary plates are available at the County Clerk's office.
Temporary license plates are not issued for trucks registered for more than 8,000 lbs. per Wisconsin Statute 341.09 "Temporary operation permits and plates."
All other registrations can be mailed to the DMV at:
WI Dept. of Transportation, P.O. Box 7949, Madison, WI 53707-7949
WI Dept. of Transportation, P.O. Box 7306, Madison, WI 53707-7306
You may also go to the following full service DMV Stations:
Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Friday 8:30 AM - 4:15 PM, Wednesday & Thursday 10:00 AM - 5:45 PM
Beloit Service Center, Shopko Plaza, 2727 Prairie Avenue, Beloit, WI 53511
Janesville Service Center, 645 South Wright Road, Janesville, WI 53546