Dog License

Please contact your municipal treasurer to obtain a dog license.

If you do not know how to contact your municipal treasurer,
please call the County Clerk's Office at (608) 757-5660 
or reference the
Rock County Directory.

 

Pursuant to Chapter 174.052 (1) and (2) of the Statutes for the State of Wisconsin, the following is required for all dogs:

SECTION 8. 95.21 (2) (a) Rabies Vaccination Required for Dogs.
(2)(a) Requirement for vaccination. Except as provided in s. 174.054, the owner of a dog shall have the dog vaccinated against rabies by a veterinarian within 30 days after the dog reaches 5 months of age and re- vaccinated within one year after the initial vaccination. If an owner obtains a dog or brings a dog into this state after the dog has reached 5 months of age, the owner shall have the dog vaccinated against rabies within 30 days… unless the dog has been vaccinated as evidenced by a current certificate of rabies vaccination from this state or another state. The owner of a dog shall have the dog re-vaccinated against rabies by a veterinarian before the date that the immunization expires as stated on the certificate of vaccination, or, if no date is specified, within 3 years following the previous vaccination.

SECTION 10. 174.05 (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) Dog License Tax.
(1) Requirement.
Except as provided in s. 174.054; the owner of a dog more than 5 months of age on January 1 of any year, or 5 months of age within the license year, shall annually, on or before the date the dog becomes 5 months of age, pay the dog license tax and obtain a license.

(2) Tax. The minimum dog license tax is $3.00 for a neutered male dog or spayed female dog, upon presentation of evidence that the dog is neutered or spayed, and $8.00 for an un-neutered male dog or unspayed female dog, or one-half of these amounts if the dog became 5 months of age after July 1 of the license year.

(3) Additional Tax. .... The governing body of any town, village or city may, by resolution, raise the minimum dog license tax on dogs within its jurisdiction. * *

(4) License Year. The license year commences on January 1st of each year and ends on the following December 31st.

(5) Late fees. When a dog owner fails to obtain a license for their dog prior to April 1 of each year, or within 30 days of acquiring ownership of a licensable dog, the collecting official shall assess and collect a late fee of $5 from every owner of a dog 5 months of age or over. If the owner failed to obtain a license on or before the dog reached licensable age, the fee will also be assessed.

Published January 15, 2006  

 

Rock County, State of Wisconsin
All Rights Reserved